Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire

Vital Information
Zipcode: 03447
County: Cheshire
Population: 2,396
Area: 36.5 square miles
Town Hall: 13 Templeton Turnpike; selectmen’s office, 585-7723, Mon., Fri. 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Tues., Thurs. 1-5 p.m.; Wed. 6-7 p.m.; selectmen meet Monday at 7 p.m.; town clerk, 585-7214, (as of May 1), Mon. 8:30 a.m.- 12:30 p.m.; Tues. 1-5 p.m.; Wed. 6-8 p.m.; Thurs. 9-5 p.m.; tax collector, 585-7791, Mon. 9 a.m.- noon; Tues., Thurs. 1-4 p.m., Wed. 6-8 p.m.
Tax Rate: $28.34; ratio of assessment, 100 percent
Registered Voters: 1,616
Fire Department: Chief, Edwin O. Mattson Jr.; 911, non-emergency 585-6561
Police Department: Chief, Leonard DiSalvo; 911, nonemergency 585-6565
Town Clerk: Heidi L. Wood
Town Administrator: Paula W. Thompson
Tax Collector: Jane R. Wright
Planning Administrator: Land Use Administrative Assistant: Sandra Gillis, 585-9119; Mon. and Fri. 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Tues. and Thurs. 1 p.m.-5 p.m.; Wed. 6-8 p.m.
Planning Board: Terry Silverman, Robin Blais, Suzanne Gray, Macreay Landy, Carlotta Lilback- Pini, Thomas Parker. Nancy Carney (selectmen’s representative)
BudgetCommittee: Carl J. Hagstrom 3rd, Martin Nolan, Frederick Wilkinson, Winston Wright, Natasha M. Michelson, Virgina Doerpholz, Benjamin Thomas (water district representative).
Zoning Board of Adjustment: Catherine Davis, John Ernst, Steven Filipi, Gretchen Wittenborg, Robert Handy, Christopher Holman (selectmen’s representative); alternates, Susan Wood, Richard Marshall, Carmen Yon.
Building Inspector: Code Enforcement Office: 585-7723
Moderator: William N. Prigge
Road Agent: Gene Cuomo, 585-2255
Recycling Center: Route 12; Tues., Thurs. 1-5:45 p.m.; Sat. 8 a.m.- 4:45 p.m. 585-9423.
Public Schools: Emerson Elementary (pre-K-6), Monadnock Regional Middle/ High School in Swanzey Center (7-12)
Board of Education: Monadnock Regional School District representatives: Winston Wright, Phyllis Trask-Peterson
State Representatives: Susan Emerson, R-Rindge; John B. Hunt, R-Rindge; Harry L. Young, D-Jaffrey
State Senator: Andy Sanborn, R-Bedford
Selectmen: Nancy W. Carney, Brian K. Doerpholz (chairman), Susan Link Silverman
Library: Fitzwilliam Town Library, 11 Templeton Turnpike, 585-6503, Mon. 2-8 p.m.; Tues. 2-6 p.m.; Wed. 9 a.m.-noon, 2-8 p.m.; Thurs. 2-6 p.m.; Sat. 9 a.m.-noon
Churches: Trinity Baptist, Fitzwilliam Community
Parks & Recreation: Village Green, Depot Common (Plante Memorial Park), tennis courts, ball field, crosscountry skiing. Hiking, biking and snowmobiles allowed on railroad bed; access from Fitzwilliam Depot
Major Businesses: Damon Lumber Co. Inc., Park Construction Corp., PLP Composite Technologies
Points of Interest: 1817 Meeting House (town hall), Village Green (listed on the National Register of Historic Places), Historical Society Museum (Amos J. Blake House), Rhododendron State Park.