Acworth, a picturesque hilltop community, was granted in 1752 and named Burnet for a Bay Colony royal governor. When incorporated by New Hampshire in 1766, it was renamed in honor of British Lord Acworth. Fine beryl and other museum-quality crystals have been found here, but the town’s true gem is its beautiful meetinghouse, facing the common and appropriately flanked by the school and town hall. The meetinghouse was erected in 1821 with such characteristic Federal elements as Palladian windows, fluted Ionic pilasters, oval windows and decorated cornices. Its graceful spire houses an 1828 Revere-firm bell.